D1 - Wordpress vs hashnode. Defusing auto-hyperlinks.

Wordpress vs hashnode

So I opened this blog today. My initial instinct was to do it through wordpress, install it and set up a blog. Wordpress is big and considered one of the best site-making tools, and after watching a few videos, and reading a few articles, I believe it is probably one of the best.

However, whenever something is "ultimative, best, has the most possibilities", it doesn't necessarily mean it's the most suited tool for you. In my case, I want to have a blog to document my improvement and track my programming progress in. Thus, while Wordpress is a tool that provide many options and different ways to build a website, it shifts my focus from my real goals. I'm looking to improve my programming & writing skills - not my website building skills.

So, hey hashnode! You're perfect, perfect for me, just the way you are. Within 10 minutes of creating a user and wobbling around, I can begin my journey, keeping my focus on the route I want to walk, unwavered.

Defusing Automatic Hyperlinks on hashnode (Markdown)

The problem: B.Sc VS B.​Sc.

So after writing my first post, I noticed a new hyperlink is attached to my text whenever I type "B.Sc" - text with a dot, and right after the dot more text that looks like a domain name (com, net, org). After going through the hashnode's writing guide I only found details over how to make links/hyperlinks, and not disable ones made unintentionally.

After asking my good ol' friend Google, which directed me to another good friend, Stackoverflow, I found a workwaround - zero-width space.

When writing an expression with dot in the middle of it I insert a zero-width space character right after the dot, thus removing the automatic hyperlink. To anyone interested, you can find directions on how to type it, you can follow the instructions in here.

As a small shortcut, you can copy these 2 arrows: ->​<-. The zero width space was added between them so you can paste it wherever you want and just delete the arrows. Just pay attention to not delete the "nothing" between them. Again, credit goes to Nelson's Weblog(link above) given above.

RwK